Title Steering Committee member
Start Date 1996-00-00
Is Current no
Board member yes
Notes The Urban/Suburban Northwestern Consortium was formed in 1996 when several schools joined with the School of Education and Social Policy at Northwestern University to create a cross-institutional community of educators committed to facilitating collaborative relationships across urban and suburban boundaries. Schools that have participated in the Consortium include: Averroes Academy, Burnham/Anthony Inclusive Academy, Evanston Township High School, Francis W. Parker School, Greeley School (Winnetka), Hendricks Academy, Hope College Preparatory School, Hubbard Woods School, Kenwood Academy, New Trier High School, Whitney Young High School and Skokie/Washburne Middle School. These schools represent public and private, urban and suburban sites at elementary, middle and secondary levels. They are diverse in the demographics of their student bodies and in their access to resources. They share, however, a measure of visionary leadership, the recognition that their diversity is a strength and the desire and determination to work together to promote educational excellence. In April 2000, the Consortium was awarded a two-year grant from the Joyce Foundation. Entitled "Building an Educational Community Across Boundaries," the grant supports programs that enhance teaching and learning and create thoughtful and forward-looking ways of educating pre-service and experienced teachers and administrators.
Updated almost 8 years ago

Source Links