Title Scientific Advisory Board member
Start Date 2021-01-18
Is Current yes
Notes RDIF and the Gamaleya Center announce creation of International scientific advisory board on Sputnik V vaccine represented by leading scientists from 9 countries Moscow, January 18, 2021 – The Russian Direct Investment Fund (RDIF, Russia’s sovereign wealth fund) and The National Research Center for Epidemiology and Microbiology named after N.F. Gamaleya (Gamaleya Center) announce the creation of an International Scientific Advisory Board on the Sputnik V vaccine – the world’s first registered vaccine against coronavirus. Leading scientists in virology, microbiology, genetics and biotechnology from Argentina, Croatia, France, Germany, India, Russia, Sweden, UK and USA, representing top research and medical centers, have joined the Board. The list of participants of the International scientific advisory board on Sputnik V vaccine: 1. Carlos Zala, Adjunct Professor, Department of Microbiology, University of Buenos Aires, School of Medicine, Argentina; 2. Omar Sued, President of the society of infectologists, Argentina; 3 Dragomira Majhen, Ph.D., Scientist, Laboratory for Cell Biology and Signalling Division of Molecular Biology Ruđer Bošković Instiute, Croatia 4. Cecil Czerkinsky, PhD, M.D., Research Director, Institute of Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology, France 5. Wibke Bayer, Ph.D., Principal Investigator on Vaccine Development, the Institute for Virology of the University Hospital in Essen, University Duisburg-Essen, Germany; 6. Vasanthapuram Ravi, MBBS, M.D. Microbiology, Dean, Basic Sciences, National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences (NIMHANS), India; 7. Niklas Arnberg, Professor of Virology, Umeå University, Chairman, Swedish Society for Virology, Sweden; 8. David Livermore, Professor of Medical Microbiology at the University of East Anglia, UK; 9. Len Seymour, Professor of Gene Therapies, President of the British Society for Gene and Cell Therapy, UK; 10. Hildegund C.J. Ertl, M.D., Professor, Vaccine & Immunotherapy Center, The Wistar Institute, USA; 11. Ronald Rodriguez, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Urology, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, USA; 12. David A. Ornelles, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, Wake Forest School of Medicine Biotech Place, USA; 13. Alexander Gintsburg, RAS Academician, Professor, Director of the Gamaleya Center; 14. Denis Logunov, RAS Corresponding Member, Doctor of Biological Sciences, Deputy Director for Science of the Gamaleya Center; 15. Sergey Tsarenko, Professor, Faculty of Medicine, Lomonosov Moscow State University, Deputy Chief Physician for Anesthesiology and Reanimation at Hospital No. 52 in Moscow; 16. Alexander Rumyantsev, President of Dmitry Rogachev National Research Center, RAS Academician, M.D., Professor. Kirill Dmitriev, CEO of the Russian Direct Investment Fund, said: “RDIF and the Gamaleya Center initiated the creation of the International Scientific Advisory Board on the Sputnik V vaccine and the formation of an international platform where vaccine developers could exchange information, opinions and expertise with their leading foreign colleagues. This scientific exchange has become especially in demand due to the pandemic of the new coronavirus infection, a global problem that has stimulated the pooling of the entire global scientific and research potential. We are grateful to all the experts who accepted our offer and joined the Board. An international partnership, including on the coronavirus vaccine, is the key to the ultimate victory and proves once again that the noble goal of saving lives has no boundaries.”