Historically Black Schools, Colleges, and Universities
The Higher Education Act of 1965 defined the HBCU's as any historically black college that was both established before 1964 and whose primary purpose was to educate African Americans. This is the list of the 98 historically Black schools, colleges, and universities in the United States. 27 of HBCU universities offer doctoral programs and 52 schools provide Master's programs, while 83 colleges have only Bachelor's degree and 38 schools offer associate degrees.